S. Wright Caughman, MD


Department of Dermatology


Rollins School of Public Health

Executive Vice President for Health Affairs Emeritus

EVP Health Affairs

Additional Contact Information

Mailing Address:

Emory University: Department of Dermatology

1525 Clifton Road
Suite 100

Atlanta, GA 30322


  • MD, Medical University of South Carolina , Charleston, SC
  • Internship, Medical University of South Carolina, Charleston, SC
  • Dermatology Residency (Chief Resident during final year), Harvard Medical School, Boston, MA
  • Research Fellowship in Immunodermatology, National Cancer Institute: Dermatology Branch , Rockville, MD
  • Research Fellowship in Gene Regulation, Eunice Kennedy Shriver National Institute of Child Health and Human Development: Cell Biology and Metabolism Branch , Rockville, MD
  • Certifications: American Board of Dermatology and Special Qualification in Dermatological Immunology/Diagnostic and Laboratory Immunology


Since joining the dermatology faculty at Emory in 1990, Dr. Caughman has served in numerous leadership positions at Emory including Chair of the Emory Dermatology Department, director of The Emory Clinic,
Executive Associate Dean for Clinical Affairs, Executive Vice President for Health Affairs and most recently, CEO of Emory’s Woodruff Health Sciences Center (WHSC) and Chairman of Emory Healthcare.  

Select Honors and Awards:

  • Lifetime Achievement Distinguished Alumnus Award, Davidson College, 2015 
  • Lifetime Achievement Award in Health Care, Atlanta Business Chronicle, 2015
  • Distinguished Alumnus Award, Medical University of South Carolina, 2012
  • AAMC Council of Deans Fellowship, 2005-2006
  • Joseph von Plenck Award, Austrian Society of Dermatology, 2000
  • Best Doctors in America, 1994, 1995, 1996, 1999-2007
  • American Dermatological Association Young Leadership Award, 1991

Society and Professional Memberships:

  • Association of American Medical Colleges
  • Association of Academic Health Centers
  • Blue Ridge Academic Health Group
  • Society for Investigative Dermatology
  • American Academy of Dermatology
  • American Dermatological Association
  • Dermatology Foundation
  • Georgia Society for Dermatologists
  • Atlanta Dermatology Association
  • Association of Professors of Dermatology
  • Southeastern Clinical Club